Help - Conditional Acceptance

Welcome!

This community is for professionals and enthusiasts of our products and services.
Share and discuss the best content and new marketing ideas, build your professional profile and become a better marketer together.

Change $ amount on Coupon to Pay Off Auto Loan

Stephanie Stout

Can you change to amount due on a remittance coupon for an auto loan to the pay off amount of the loan? I actually did this with Santander. After speaking with 3 managers they insist they to not accept coupons. I did send a letter, notorized, and certified mail. They did not send back coupon. With the last manager I told him I would be forced to send a conditional acceptance and file a UCC 1 then the manager gave me the address of Santander's legal dept. Im deciding whether to just write the legal dept a letter threatening a conditional acceptance or whether to go ahead and send a conditional acceptance. Im new to this, learning as I go so respectful comments only please. 

Discard
2 Answers
Best Answer

I am also fighting Santander. We hit hard times and I chose to pay for electricity rather than a vehicle. I made three years of perfect, on-time payments before hard times hit - I emailed and called numerous times for a deferred payment and the customer service agents were TERRIBLE. And then, a friend introduced us to this knowledge... and I jumped in!

1. Sent a coupon - for a little more than the full pay-off - with a friendly remittance letter. 
  - received a letter stating they don't accept coupons as payment, but among acceptable forms of payment are checks and money orders (which the coupon was!).

2. I found their EIN and made payments using THEIR info, which were ALL accepted and zeroed my account. I asked for my title to be sent. The payments were all reversed within a week. I made my last double-dipper payment in August of 2023, started this process end of October 2023.